How Do I Go About Getting My Florida Liquor License?

When customers make their way into your restaurant, you will want to do everything you can to make them feel right at home. After all, hungry customers are the lifeblood that keep a restaurant thriving. If you want to do something to make your customers feel even more comfortable in your dining establishment, you want to think about how to get a liquor license in Florida.

A liquor license provides you with the freedom to provide alcoholic beverages to patrons in your establishment who are of legal drinking age, if they would like one. If you are thinking about looking into getting your own liquor license, keep some of this information in mind.

how to get a liquor license in Florida

What do you need to get a license?

The Florida Division of Alcoholic Beverages and Tobacco (BAT) is the organization in charge of licensing alcohol related businesses such as restaurants, bars, pubs, liquor stores and more. There are agencies within each county in the state and they will be able to issue your restaurant a liquor license if you meet their requirements. The BAT requires that every establishment owner applying for a license must submit to them information including:

·    A lease or deed to the property proving you have the right to occupy the establishment

·    The social security numbers of all those applying

·    Your business registration number

·    A sketching of your establishment

When you apply for a liquor license in Florida, you will be required to pay a fee of $100 to $500 (depending on where your restaurant is located) for the initial application. There are a few other requirements you will want to be aware of as well, so be sure to check the website for the basics and call the nearest BAT agency to ensure you have everything needed to get started.

The BAT also requires that you and/or your employees undergo training, which will be about an hour long. You will learn about penalties, responsibilities and all aspects of running a licensed establishment. Once you are all set up with your liquor license, you and/or your employees must have this license on their person at all times that alcohol is being served.

Having a liquor license will be able to help you bring in more revenue, and give you another way to provide your customers with a great time. It’s worth the time and effort to get one.